top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCiara Colthart

Why

Updated: Mar 11, 2023

Why


How often in our life times do we ask ourselves Why


Why does no one else ever ask


Why would you do that to yourself

Why did you make your stomach turn

Why when your body never needed corrected or punished

Why would you drink till you cry

Why instead of forgetting and living your moment did you choose to sink your adolescent's ship

Why would you lose control instead of having fun

Why do you scratch your arms when your nervous

Why would you think peeling back the scabs would make breathing easier

Why do you take your anger out on yourself

Why would you hurt yourself

Why did you expect so much and so little from yourself when you were just a kid

Why did I change inside

Why can't you stand the sight of me anymore, trust me I hate the sight of me more than any of you could

Why when seeing you all makes my heart lighter

Why did you all see something that disgusted you instead of someone who needed your compassion

Why couldn’t I keep it together

Why did I fall apart

Why did she never ask why because she already knew her part in the answer

Why did I spend my childhood looking after you, I always had to be the bigger person despite being your wee one

Why did she scream and yell when I cried and begged for help like I had done something wrong

Why did they never want to help

Why did it make them hate me instead

Why when nothing could’ve made me hurt them because I loved their friendship so much

Why did the ones that care never have the voice to ask why

Why; what was really happening to make me this way

Why did we then grow apart like the only memories we had were burdens

Why am I left always asking myself

Why


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Stalkers Lament

A piece exploring the most complicated, wrenching and comforting relationship in my life. The one with my mother.

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page