top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCiara Colthart

Mundane Eyes

Updated: Dec 3, 2022

We live in a condition

where faith is everything.

It blinds , even the clearest

of skies. The sunniest minds.


From a young age I had to

grasp onto the future, as presents gifts

kindly promised only failings

of false sweet nothings.


l thought I'd made a friend

that though your sweetness ached, it wouldn't leave

a bitter trail of taste. Stupid Sweet tooth.

l knew you'd rot eventually.


Fruitless hope that an agreement

of mercy could prevail

but your words really meant fuck- all


 

I carried on; unwaveringly

and my faith became the building blocks

I stood in the cold, ignoring the drops

that froze who you had known


My trust built you a sheIter; strong.

Yet the slightest down pour & there it drifts.

Foundations Crumble. Battering,

My sore spots. Swallowing selfs weakness.


I lost my faith

in a pit of mundane eyes.

That saw me, without seeing.

Stoney, muddy, earthly banality.


 

You didn't try, I was too wiIIing

l gave you my dull bricks strength

so caught up by boring browns gaze.


A strong foundation. You turned to dust .

So sly no one saw the demise

A trite sequence of dominos

No.


No house is warmer

or simply safer

than the one I built

Myself.







57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Stalkers Lament

A piece exploring the most complicated, wrenching and comforting relationship in my life. The one with my mother.

Why

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page